Penalties for DWI Criminal Offenses in Texas

August 1, 2014 | By

The general public in Texas are well aware of the dangers of drunk drivers on Texas roads and have no qualms when it comes to supporting the harsh treatment of people who are convicted of DWI related criminal offenses in the court of law. There are a number of people who have been negatively affected by drunk drivers, or like myself, has lost a vehicle due to a car accident with a drunk driver in the Houston area.

In fact, I remember one night in downtown Houston, near Main St. and Rusk, when I was hit by a drunk driver while I was in a Chevrolet Impala that I had rented for a trip I took for the weekend. Well as soon as I got back from my trip out of town, I needed to run downtown to run an errand and bang! I his hit by a drunken illegal alien with no car insurance and the rest, as they say, is history.

If you are an American citizen and are busted for DWI, unlike illegal aliens who are above the law (regardless of race), then you’re looking ahead to some stiff criminal penalties if you’re an unlucky enough defendant to be found guilty in the court of law.

Penalties For DWI Convictions in Texas

First DWI Offense

Criminal penalties for a person convicted of “Driving While Intoxication” in the state of Texas can be summed up with a fine not to exceed two thousand dollars, three days to six months in jail, and a drivers license suspension that can last anywhere from 3 months to a year.DWI-Law

Second DWI Offense

Consequences for anyone found guilty of a second DWI offense in the state of Texas include a potential fine of up to 4,000.00. There is the strong possibility of a jail sentence of 30 days to a year in the county jail of the jurisdiction where you were arrested. Drivers license suspension is bit more harsh with possible suspension periods of anywhere from 6 months to 2 years.

Third DWI Offense

The situation is enhanced when a person is convicted for a third time as it should be for people who don’t learn their lesson. A small fine of up to 10,000.00 can, in theory, be assessed by the court, along with a much needed prison sentence of 2 to 10 years in “the big house”.

Then there’s that pesky drivers license suspension that can last anywhere from 180 days to a light 2 years.

Talk with a DWI Lawyer or Explore Resources

If you need help preventing drunk driving, there are many BAC Calculators on the web, and a number of other resources online that help you find tips and tricks to help manage your alcohol consumption or, at bare minimum, keep you from making the stupid mistake of driving drunk.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Category: Crime & Law

About the Author ()

Comments are closed.